The Smashing Pumpkins announce new 33-track, three-act “rock opera” album, ‘Atum’

The Smashing Pumpkins are coming back in a big way.

The alt-rock vets — now consisting of original members Billy Corgan, James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlin, plus longtime guitarist Jeff Schroeder — have announced a new album called Atum, a 33-track, three-act “rock opera” described as the sequel to the Pumpkins’ Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness and Machina/Machine of God albums.

Your first preview of Atum is the song “Beguiled,” which is available now via digital outlets. The “Beguiled” video premieres Tuesday at 12:33 p.m. ET on YouTube, and you can catch the Pumpkins perform the track on NBC’s The Tonight Show this Friday.

Atum, the follow-up to 2020’s Cyr, will be released in three parts, with Act 1 dropping November 15. Acts 2 and 3 will follow in 2023 on January 31 and April 21, respectively.

Along the way, Corgan will be breaking down each song off of Atum on his new podcast, Thirty-Three with William Patrick Corgan. The first two episodes are out now.

If that’s not enough Smashing Pumpkins for you, a vinyl box set edition of Atum will be available on April 21 with 10 more bonus tracks.

Meanwhile, you can also catch The Smashing Pumpkins on the road on their Spirits on Fire tour alongside Jane’s Addiction. The outing launches October 2 in Dallas, Texas.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.