New ‘Essential Foo Fighters’ best-of compilation announced

Foo Fighters have announced a new best-of compilation.

The collection is titled The Essential Foo Fighters and is due out October 28. The track list includes selections from every Foo Fighters album from their 1995 self-titled debut to 2021’s Medicine at Midnight, except for 2014’s Sonic Highways.

The CD version consists of 19 tracks, while the vinyl edition features 21. Both formats include two versions of the Foo standard “Everlong”: the original Colour and the Shape recording and an acoustic rendition.

Foo Fighters previously released a best-of record, titled Greatest Hits, in 2009.

News of The Essential Foo Fighters comes in between the band’s two tribute concerts to late drummer Taylor Hawkins, who died in March. The first show took place in London on September 3, and the second will be held in Los Angeles on September 27.

Here’s the track list for The Essential Foo Fighters:

“Making a Fire”
“Times Like These”
“Monkey Wrench”
“My Hero”
“Cold Day in the Sun”
“Big Me”
“Long Road to Ruin”
“Shame Shame”
“Best of You”
“All My Life”
“The Pretender”
“This Is a Call”
“Waiting on a War”*
“Learn to Fly”
“The Sky Is a Neighborhood”
“These Days”
“Everlong (Acoustic)”

* = vinyl version only.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.